The One Where Someone Said ‘I hate this one’

dislikeSo, I was at a harvest school assembly recently and the teacher announced the next song and I heard a voice (don’t worry it was a pupil not a teacher) saying

‘I hate this one’.

The song was Autumn days (I mustn’t forget). The message of the song is excellent but I must confess, that I too find that the music really grates with me. If this is your favourite song (I know that lots of you are probably humming it now and are reliving a happy childhood memory), I’m not saying there is anything wrong with it. It’s probably just me (and possibly the ‘I hate this one’ boy) who don’t like the song. There is no problem with me personally disliking the song as long as I realize that the song isn’t wrong, or no good.

At this point I am going to change the word hate (which is too emotive) to dislike.

What do we dislike?

Probably most of what we don’t like is about personal preference? If that is true, how much do we impose our own subjective view on others?

We used to have someone who led worship at Orchard Baptist before they moved (incidentally, I disliked it when they moved) who couldn’t stand the song ‘Shine Jesus Shine’. One of the most inspirational memories that I have of him leading worship was the time when he picked ‘Shine Jesus Shine’ because it was the right song to sing at the time. Berkeley was willing to lay aside his dislike for a song to help lead us in worship in the way that was the most helpful and that is a picture of what I think that God is challenging us all to do.

You see, Christianity has become very I/me centered.

I don’t like the worship because we did/didn’t (delete as appropriate) sing Autumn days.

The preaching was too long for me.

I don’t like the way that the church includes the children, surely the church is really for the adults.

I like bungee jumping in my worship and if there is not bungee jumping every Sunday morning then the church has deprived me of my worship experience.

I could go on.

We all have dislikes, but will we lay them aside.

Jesus said that he came to serve and he challenges us to do the same.

Part of serving involves laying aside dislikes in order to be able to serve freely.

One of the signs of being a disciple of Jesus, who understands what our master wants is that we are willing to lay aside our preferences in order to serve and love others.

If you find yourself getting your way all the time at the expense of what others feel then I don’t think that you fully get this following Jesus thing.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in discipleship, Faith, Following Jesus, Life experiences and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

