The One Where I Walked Into A Window

mr bumpSo, I was trying to collect a pizza and as I walked along the front of the shop towards the door I was looking at my phone and bringing up the order number. I glanced up and saw that I was nearly at the door, then glanced down at my phone and checked that I had the order number on my phone screen. I turned into what I thought was the door but I actually walked into the window.

I then regrouped and walked through the door and saw some wild-eyed members of staff behind the counter who clearly didn’t know what to say (to their credit, they weren’t laughing, at least not out loud). I said, ‘well that was embarrassing, I really need to learn to do one thing at a time’ and then one of the members of staff asked me my name.

Yup, they didn’t even ask for the darned order number!

I came home with the pizza and told Tracey and our teenagers (the girls were in bed) about what had happened and they found it pretty funny.

My son came in just now and saw me writing about this and so he asked me, ‘when you walked into the window did you think of a Bible passage?’ My only thought was ‘OUCH’.

Thinking about it later, what I did feel a bit stupid about was that I hadn’t been watching where I was going. I believe that unless we are focused in life on what really matters then things are going to go wrong as we get distracted.

I want my focus to be on God and his leading but too often I get distracted and I end up bumping into something (usually spiritually rather than physically you will be glad to know!)

The Bible encourages us to ‘fix our eyes on Jesus’.

When we watch Jesus, thinking about who he is and what his priorities are then our lives will be radically different. When we watch him and look for his leading and we follow then we know that we are always moving forwards in the right direction (rather than bumping into things because we aren’t paying attention).

Although I felt stupid, I also felt quite pleased that I was willing to laugh at myself rather than feeling embarrassed. All of us make mistakes and things go wrong and I thank God for the security that I have in who I am which means that this episode won’t stop me from walking into shops again. Hopefully, the episode will stop me from walking into shops (or things) whilst looking at my phone though!

People often say, ‘you live and you learn.’ Sadly the learning is optional but it doesn’t have to be that way.

hebrews 12.1-3 run the race

 

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Following Jesus, funny, Life experiences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The One Where I Walked Into A Window

  1. Pingback: The One Where I Felt Hopeless | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

