Creating a creative corner and feeling God’s pleasure

My daughter has been really tired for a few weeks now and we have been worried about her. We have taken her to the doctors and had a discussion with the school to see if we can find out what the matter is. We have tried talking with her and haven’t got to the bottom of it yet but we did discover that she misses the opportunity to make things. You can read about one of her previous creations here.

DSCF9963In response to what she was telling us we have set up a creative corner at home. All the materials were at home in different places but life has been so busy that we rarely got them out. That has now changed and our daughter now has some space to be the person who God created her to be. She enjoyed her space between school and bedtime today making all sorts of things and it was nice to put her to bed happy rather than irritable.

I personally can’t think of anything worse than having to do glueing and sticking but then I’m me and not my daughter.

I love the quote from the film Chariots of Fire when Eric Lidell says ‘I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me fast. And when I run I feel His pleasure’.

Lidell felt called by God to be a missionary but he also recognized that God had given him the ability to run. I think it’s great that the quote associates God’s pleasure with us being who we are made to be. Like any proud parent, God delights in seeing us become all that we can be and that includes the way that we live out and enjoy life.

Who are you?

Do you know?

Are you living as that person?

When we deny who we are like my daughter not having space to be creative then we will not feel fulfilled.

I pray that God would help us to become the people who he created us to be.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in change, Faith, Life in all it's fullness, Who am I and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Creating a creative corner and feeling God’s pleasure

  1. Carla says:

    Oh Graeme, I LOVED this post! Being creative is important for me and when I haven’t been able to ‘create’ for a while, I feel all out of sorts and cranky. Just an afternoon of writing or photography, and I feel connected with myself, God, and with the world around me. It’s so much easier to do this when everything is to hand, and ready to go. What great insight you and Tracey have shown 🙂 x

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for this post. I have a daughter who is very shy, but also very creative. We will be moving soon and you just reminded me why I intend to create a creative corner for her in our new home!

    Like

  3. Pingback: The One About Fat And Pointy Bottoms | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

