What do training courses and trips to the dentist have in common?

Obedience training ripped ironicToday I am attending a trustee training course. I have to be honest, there are lots of things I would rather be doing than sitting in a training session on a Saturday morning.

Apparently trustees ‘have overall control of a charity and are responsible for making sure it’s doing what it was set up to do’ (source). If I am a trustee of a charity and I don’t understand my role and things go wrong then I am in trouble and ultimately I and the other trustees are in the firing line. There may be things I would rather be doing than participating in the training but it certainly is important that I pay attention.

Earlier this week I went to the dentist, I didn’t enjoy it at all but I still chose to go and I even paid to be there! Letting people poke around in your mouth doesn’t seem like the best idea but actually if we want to have healthy teeth then going to the dentist occasionally is probably going to be necessary.

My car gets MOT’d every year. It’s a time of year that every motorist hates as we wait to see what work needs to be done to keep our cars roadworthy. We don’t look forward to it, but when I am driving my car around I am grateful that it has been certified as roadworthy and safe.

Sometimes things in life aren’t fun, but they are necessary and even good for us or for the people we care about. One of the mistakes we can make in life is to ignore what is important and just to focus on what is fun and easy.

Training courses, trips to the dentists and MOT’s aren’t often fun but they are good for us and so we should give them the time and energy they deserve.

As the time drew near for him to ascend to heaven, Jesus resolutely set out for Jerusalem. (Luke 9.51)

Jesus came to save us and open up the way for us to be able to know God now and forever. He chose to be obedient to God his father even though the way ahead was tough. He knew that our salvation would require his death in our place and yet he chose to be our sacrifice despite the high cost.

Is there anything that you have been avoiding because it’s hard? Perhaps today is the day to face up to it and get it done. May Jesus be our inspiration.

Please pray for me today as I receive training (that I will be more compliant than the dog in the picture) and also for the Eastern Baptist Association council as we meet afterwards as trustees of the EBA.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Learning, Life experiences, perseverance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What do training courses and trips to the dentist have in common?

  1. We’ll be putting all that fun training into practice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

