Insecurity?

insecurityAre you worried about your size so much that you stand on tiptoes in a picture? Now that Nicolas isn’t president does that mean that he tries to look even taller?

Are you secure in who you are? How do you feel about yourself?How do you react when people criticize you?

Have you ever snapped at someone who was talking about you and afterwards wondered why? When we are not secure in who we are it can lead to us treating those around us in strange ways.

A few days ago I wrote about Jesus calming a storm with a command. One of the things that occurred to me since is that Jesus doesn’t defend himself when the disciples shout at accusingly, ‘Don’t you care we are going to drown?‘ How would you feel if someone said that to you? Upset, maybe a little indignant and probably defensive. I have had it said to me and it led to me defending why I was caring and giving examples to prove it. Instead of defending himself Jesus talks to the disciples about their faith, he focuses on what is important in that moment. His security in himself means he can cope with emotional criticism.

I wonder if I was back in the situation where I was accused of not caring if I might respond differently? I might say that I was sorry to hear that the person felt that way about me and then I could get on with focusing about what was really important in that situation.

How secure are we? It’s no wonder so many people feel insecure:

It’s easy to feel insecure about our shape when the media is full of photoshopped images that are impossible to achieve in real life.

It’s easy to feel insecure when people post edited highlights of their lives on facebook and leave others feeling  that they are missing out on the perfection others are experiencing. Read more about this here.

It’s easy to feel insecure because we live in a world full of criticism.

I picked my daughter up from school a few weeks ago and a member of staff wanted me to know that they had been quite tough with her as they helped her work through an issue. This staff member was worried that my daughter might come home and complain about how the horrible teachers. I actually wouldn’t have worried because I know how caring the staff in that class are and I made sure that the person I was speaking with knew this. Don’t misunderstand me, if my children are upset I would want to find out why but you need to take into account who someone is when they are accused of something.

When you hear bad things about someone do you just believe it or do you stop and consider who that person is? So much stress and aggravation could be avoided if we could just pause and ask ourselves whether that accusation sounds like something that person would do.

Who are you? What characteristics make up who you are? I hope that we can become more secure in who we are, this involves celebrating what we are good at and also acknowledging our flaws. If you accuse me of not caring then you don’t know me but if you call me disorganized I’m not going to argue with you. If I am secure in who I am I can cope with being criticized when it is fair.

When we understand who we are and we become secure in ourselves then life will be better for us and for those around us. I believe that every person is made in the image of God and that this gives us immense value.

Let’s learn to celebrate being who we are instead of wishing we were someone else. Remember, you are the only person who can be you!

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Who am I and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

