Wakey, wakey, rise and shine!

I don't like morningsSomebody phoned me at 7.40am on Saturday morning. Don’t you just hate it when you are woken up early at the weekend! It got worse, they were asking if I could meet them within 10 minutes. How would you have responded?

Saturday is the only day of the week that I can stay in bed past 7.30am. The children had gone to sleep late on Friday night and so I was looking forward to a slow start and here I was being woken up. I was not very pleased!

It was an electrician calling because they wanted to meet me at church to fix a problem that I had reported the evening before.

Should I be annoyed at being woken up early or grateful that the problem could be fixed?

I wonder how much of what we get irritated about is actually not that important in the scheme of things?

Should I get annoyed at work today if I can’t find something or should I be glad that no one shot at me?

Should I get annoyed when I have to get up early or should I be glad that I don’t have to get up early to walk for miles to collect water every day as so many people do in the world?

Should I get annoyed because my car needs an MOT or grateful that I have a car at all?

Should I get annoyed because my daughter is ill and isn’t sleeping well or be grateful that we have access to medicine?

I could go on.

Are you annoyed or grateful?

A few people reading this will have good reasons to be annoyed and upset but most of us, if we are honest, get upset and worked up about things that are fairly unimportant.

Life is spoilt when we get worked up about things that don’t really matter. I’m praying that God would give me a better perspective on life and on how he is at work even in circumstances that aren’t perfect.

May we learn to develop an attitude of gratitude.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

