Staff worship or God worship?

putting on a pedestalI have a friend who works for a Christian organisation and yesterday she sent me a message with a link to a video that they had used in their ‘staff worship’. I struck me how odd the phrase ‘staff worship’ is, it immediately brought to mind people bowing down to and singing the praises of ‘the staff’.

Who or what do we worship? Worship involves us believing that a thing or person is worth something significant and that we offer them devotion and praise as a consequence.

Sports fans worship their team and star players.

Music fans obsess over their idols.

Who or what do we honour the most by what we say and the way we live?

When Christians speak of idolatry, it’s easy to just think about statues that worship deities, but idolatry is more than that.

According to Tim Keller, an idol “…is anything more important to you than God, anything that absorbs your heart and imagination more than God, anything you seek to give you what only God can give. An idol is whatever you look at and say, in your heart of hearts, “If I have that, then I’ll feel my life has meaning, then I‘ll know I have value, then I’ll feel significant and secure.”

Jesus said, ‘You must worship the Lord your God and serve only him.’ (Luke 4.8)

Is that true of us? Do we worship God only? We can admire and speak well of people, but only God deserves to be worshipped. He will never let us down, he is unique and he is so far beyond anyone else. We cannot comprehend who he is or how he works.

We should be in awe of God, so why do we sometimes give a greater focus and glory to other things? Why do we let things absorb our hearts and imagination more than God? Why do we search for ultimate meaning and fulfilment in things other than God?

Oh and back to my friend. I happen to know that their ‘staff worship’ was about Jesus, so that’s okay.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Life experiences, worship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

