Back to life, back to reality

I’ve been on holiday for the past few days (did you miss me?) Tracey and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with a short break in the Peak district and we had an amazing time.

It’s wonderful being on holiday isn’t it. When you are away from home, staying in a nice place (not saying that home isn’t a nice place) and doing the things you enjoy (finding 156 geocache took a large chunk of our time away), it is easy to begin to feel resentful about having to go back to ordinary life.

Holidays are great and in contrast normality can seem to be a bit of a drag.

One of the things I believe in life is that our attitude is more important than where we are.

Are you better off being on holiday all the time and feeling miserable, or living daily life as most people do, but feeling happy?

It’s not what we have, but who we are and how we choose to live that is important.

Chinley churn near the summitOn our first full day of our holiday we planned to do a series of geocache around Chinley Churn (1499ft high peak). We woke up and looked at the weather and could see it was going to rain most of the day but we decided to go anyway. It took us a while to drive there and then we walked along in the drizzle but still laughed a lot on the way. We had so much fun until just after 2/3 of the way around our 10 mile walk when it really started to rain hard. Unfortunately we were up near the top and there was just nowhere to shelter. Our waterproof coats kept everything dry except our trousers and boots which were soaked. We continued on our walk and the last 2 miles in particular were quite hard. I slipped on some rocks trying to get to a cache and cut my leg and Tracey began to feel quite cold (she doesn’t have as much natural padding as me). We stopped and ate our remaining supply of Jaffa cakes (they really are everyday essentials!) before beginning our descent. Those of you who know us well will be surprised to hear that we missed out any cache that weren’t on the path on the way back down.

How should we feel about this day where we saw some spectacular views and had fun but where we also got cold, wet and I injured myself?

Tracey and I look back on this day as a good day that we made the best of. Often life isn’t ideal and we can let that get us down or we can get on with it.

We’re back home now and although I enjoy my everyday life (most of the time anyway), I think I would rather be on holiday. I don’t feel down about this though. In fact I’m looking forward to what God has in store as I continue to live my everyday life well.

11For I have learned how to be content with whatever I have. 12I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. 13For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.(Philippians 4)

I used to find these Bible verses challenging but then when you go through hard times and remain content, there is a real blessing because you begin to realize what life is all about.

God’s presence is such a blessing and whether I am on holiday or living my everyday life I am grateful that God is with me.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in contentment, Faith, God is with us, Life experiences, Life in all it's fullness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

