Use the Force?

A short blog today. Watch the short video clip if you’ve not seen it before and then read on (the clip probably won’t show up in e-mail, so e-mail followers will have to open todays blog in their web browser if they want to watch it).

darth vader volkswagen adThe ad is one of my favourites of all time. The young boy is trying use the force to move things and it does not go well. His father returns home and the boy rushes out, but not for a hug or a welcome home. He wants to move the car by the power of the force. I love the expression of shock (clever because you can’t see his face) when the lights flash. The boy can’t move or affect the car, but his father can.

The first time I watched this ad I thought about God, not buying the car (sorry Volkswagen). There is so much in life I try to do alone but God my father has the power to do great things. He is doing great things, but will I turn to him and join him in what he is doing? Will I call on him more instead of trying to cope alone?

The strangest thing about the car ad is the only thing we learn about the car is that you can make the lights flash by remote which is hardly distinctive. The ad doesn’t make me want to but the car, but it does remind me a lot of my need for God. May I call on him more today. God has been and is doing amazing things.

psalm 40.1-3

This clip and short blog is another example of the creative communication we use to start services at Orchard Baptist.

 

 

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
Video | This entry was posted in creative communication, Faith, God is our father, God is with us, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

