Please do not bend

I Please do not bendreceived this letter yesterday. The first thing I noticed was that it was bent and the second thing I noticed was that it said do not bend on the envelope. The failure of the postman to read and obey the instructions has led to some damaged certificates.

What are you like at following instructions? When you get flat pack furniture do read or even glance at the instructions or do you just carry on and hope for the best? When you are lost do you ask for directions or do you always feel you can get there by yourself? If you play football, do you follow the managers strategy or just play however you want?

I believe that God created us and that the Bible contains his instructions for us to live by. Jesus described people who read and follow God’s instructions as being like wise builders who build good flat pack furniture houses. He went on to describe people who read the instructions but who don’t obey them as being like shoddy builders who are making it up as they go along and when storms come their house collapses (Matthew 7.24-27).

baby-instructions-for-new-dads-141I guess that a lot of us think we know best and we want to be in control, making our own decisions. That’s certainly how I feel about life generally, but if my car breaks down I’m going to talk to a mechanic, if a gadget malfunctions I want the manufacturers to repair or replace it and if I’m ill I’m going to visit a doctor. In life I’ve come to believe that following our creators design for life is the best way to go because he has knowledge and expertise that I do not have. This doesn’t mean that when I read the Bible that I switch my brain off. I still think for myself but I also acknowledge that there is a God who knows and sees everything and that he has a better perspective than I do.

In films when people travel back in time, they often use their knowledge of the future and technology to help them. This perspective gives them an advantage that they would be foolish to ignore. In the Bible God has given us his perspective and knowledge and I am grateful for this gift.

When I have failed to read and obey my makers instructions things haven’t always gone too well. I love this spoof message from a milk carton manufacturer. Who will we listen to and who is guiding us through life?

cropped-funny-carton-instructions2.jpg

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
Image | This entry was posted in Bible, change, God is our father, God is with us, God loves us, Holy Spirit, Learning, Life experiences, Life in all it's fullness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Please do not bend

  1. guestpeaker says:

    We also would like to remember your readers and many Christians not to change words of the Bible or to twist them around. We much too often find Christians who instead reading the son of God read god the son. This exactly the same as the bended letter a bending against the Will of God Who has sent His only begotten son.

    Like

Leave a Reply

