I Feel Like that Antelope

At Orchard Baptist, we sometimes project video footage behind song words and I often tell people the story of the wildlife footage that our computer operator used once (and I stress the word once!)

We had been singing about God being the creator of the world and the footage showed  some amazing scenery before moving on to some animals in the wild.

The final bit we watched involved an antelope drinking from a watering hole and this was a wonderful picture of peace and tranquility until a crocodile emerged from the water and attacked it.

Thankfully people found this quite funny and it was also a good reminder to check footage all the way through before using it.

I was leading the service at another church this morning and as we were singing  about God rescuing us I remembered about when this had all happened. I felt that it was quite important to tell the story but I wasn’t sure why and so after the song, I told everyone about it.

As I finished the story, I was about to explain (in a rather, very, extremely embarrassed way) that I felt led to tell that story but that I didn’t know why. The thing that actually came out of my mouth was ‘perhaps you feel like that Antelope?’

After the service, I was so relieved when a lady came up to me and explained how she really did feel like that Antelope. This was a great opportunity to then think about how God can either save miraculously or work within our struggles.

It is encouraging to know that God can work within and through us in such simple ways but sometimes we need to take a risk.

Are we willing to listen to God?

Are we willing to take risks regarding the things that he shows us?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, funny, God is with us, Life experiences, stress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

