The One About Being Interconnected

connectedFor the past few months I have had throat problems.

Now, I know this will sound bizarre but those problems have now largely cleared up thanks to having my ears syringed.

Yes, you did read that right!

Throughout the Summer I suffered with a sore throat and since then it has just felt strange, almost like it is swollen inside.

Last week I went to have my ears syringed and whilst the water was being pumped into my ear I couldn’t stop coughing and later that evening I noticed that my throat felt normal again.

Weird huh????

I guess that throats and ears are connected in some way (I suppose that is why the hospital department is called ear, nose and throat!)

The church is described in the Bible as the body of Christ and as I was praying about this I was reminded about my ear treatment making my throat better. It occurred to me that sometimes we might try to specifically address an area of church life that we think needs working on or improving when the answer may be to look elsewhere.

The best example I can think of is being honest about our faith. Some people think that trying harder is the answer and so in trying to improve in that area as a church, we might tell people they have to talk about their faith and then we might show them how. What has dawned on me over the years is that the best way for us to be honest about our faith is to have a greater reality of faith because we talk about what is important to us. The best way to be motivated to talk about our faith is to spend more time with Jesus.

I’m so glad I feel better and although I wish it had come sooner I’m grateful to have found what will hopefully be a permanent solution.

What areas does the church that you are a part of need to grow in?

Will we continue working really hard to fix those areas ourselves with our bright ideas or will we stop and ask for God’s guidance and do what he shows us?

Being really busy with what we think is the way forward will wear us out but choosing to work with God in the way that he is leading will bring freedom.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Life experiences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

