It’s in the tree behind the Invisible Man

walk in the woods‘It is hidden in the tree behind the invisible man’ is not a very helpful clue when you are looking for something.

Thankfully we did have the GPS coordinates and so we soon had the geocache that we were searching for in hand despite the unhelpful clue. (Geocaching is a type of treasure hunting using GPS to lead you to the coordinates a where a cache is hidden).

After finding the cache, I realized that my daughter was still searching and when I asked her why, she said that she was looking for the invisible man. She even started calling out to him because she wanted him to come out from wherever he was hiding so she could see him.

What are we looking for?

Are you searching for an ideal in life that isn’t achievable or sustainable?

  • I would like to have peace and quiet all the time
  • I need everyone to like me
  • I want to be rich
  • I want it to feel like I am always on holiday

All these things feel like good things to aim for, but if they are our goals in life then we are almost certainly going to end up disappointed.

How about this instead?:

  • I would like to find peace in a this life that can often be stressful
  • I recognize that not everyone will like me but I want to do what I can to be approachable and friendly
  • I would like to be content in life
  • I want to enjoy taking time off and I will make the most of it by resting and having fun when the opportunity comes along.

What are you looking for?

Jesus promised a fulfilled life to all of his followers (John 10.10). We can all receive this fulfillment if we listen to and obey what Jesus is saying (Jesus talks about this in the first part of John 10).

If we believe that Jesus is God and that he knows best then the best thing we can do is to look for him and to follow him in each and every situation.

Are we looking for Jesus?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, God is with us, Life experiences, Life in all it's fullness, Listening to God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s in the tree behind the Invisible Man

  1. Pingback: The Amazing Tree Top Way Experience | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

