More Please?

Ice cream cookie sharingWe were absolutely stuffed after enjoying our meals when the waiter asked if we would like any desserts.

After some insistence from most of us that we couldn’t eat any more we actually ended up getting something to share. We settled on a cookie dough and ice cream dessert with a spoon each for the four of us.

It was absolutely delicious and a great end to a nice meal.

I was thinking about this a day or two later and it occurred to me that our experience was similar to the sharing aspect of communion.

In communion, we share bread and wine (or grape juice) to remind us of the death of Jesus. The piece of bread we take reminds us of Jesus’ broken body and the cup reminds us of his blood and as we share in these things we remember that Jesus died to save us.

In many Baptist churches, we use a single loaf of bread that people take a bit from. I (and I guess most people) would tend to tear just a small piece but in our shared dessert we didn’t have a small spoonful each before sending the plate back. In fact, whilst we were all polite enough to all insist that others should have the last bit I think we all would have enjoyed more.

As I thought about this, I was left challenged  about how much of God that I want in my life. Do I just want a little of him or do I want more?

Some Christians want just a little of God for when we need his help, perhaps we see him as some kind of spiritual vending machine. God will engage with people in this way but really he wants to fill and transform our lives.

God wants our attitude to be one of more please when it comes to his presence in us.

How much of God do you want in your life?

Whilst we all enjoyed our cookie dough and ice cream we were also willing to share it. Are we willing to share God by being honest about our faith? I hope so, because he is much too good to keep to ourselves!

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, Blessed to be a blessing, Faith, God is with us, Life experiences, Relationship with God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

