You have got a way of helping us to see things differently

glasses-1246611_1920-seeing-clearlyAt the end of church yesterday, someone was kind enough to thank me for my sermon and then they said;

‘You have got a way of helping us to see things differently’.

Their complement really meant a lot to me and in particular it reaffirmed one of the things that I believe that God made me to do.

I have always been very good at explaining things in creative, simple and accessible ways. I can think of analogies, examples and parables to help explain things and can often come up with visuals or video that reinforces or teaches a point.

I am quite good at explaining things, but am fairly hopeless at others and that is why it is great to be part of a community of people where we can work together to complement each other. We each bringing our strengths and weaknesses and together we unite to do God’s work.

Who did God make you to be?

What part can you play in the community of people doing God’s work in the world today?

How can we encourage others in the things that we see them doing?

If you want to think more about the church community as a place where every person has a part to play then you might find We Are Family, Right? helpful.

If you want to, you can also listen to the my talk from yesterday online.

Image from Pixabay.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Blessed to be a blessing, creative communication, discipleship, Faith, Learning, Life experiences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

