Should I have left the light on or not?

light-window-hope-honestaboutmyfaithSo, my girls were up at 3am shouting at each other. One of them had had a bad dream and she was worried about going to sleep again in the dark but her sister couldn’t get back to sleep with the door open letting in a bit of light.

It’s really hard being a parent in these sorts of moments because all you want to do is shout and treat your children harshly because they are being so naughty and inconveniencing you. The trouble is though that neither of them was being deliberately difficult. One of my daughters has special needs and part of this is that she can hear and see things that others of us wouldn’t notice and so she often struggles to sleep when there is any light. My other daughter was terrified by her dream and as most of us know, when you are scared it can take a long time to calm down.

I managed to get them to sleep again by leaving their door open a little so that it let a small amount of light in from the nightlight in the hallway. I also sat in the room for a while reassuring my frightened daughter that I was there.

As I sat there I began to think about the darkness and the light. I like the light, but in that moment while I was tired and sleepy I really wanted it to be dark.

Jesus is the light of the world and his light shines all around us, in us and through us.

As Christians we say we love the light, but do we always and consistently?

Living in the light means being changed and transformed. Do we want Jesus to change us to be more like him? (Don’t worry, I don’t think that a beard or sandals are involved!)

The light shows things up for what they really are. As a result, living in the light will involve us speaking up about what is really going on in some uncomfortable situations. The light will also show our imperfections and so we have to be secure enough in God’s love and acceptance not to feel the pressure to put on masks or to pretend that we are perfect.

I love God’s light and I want to live in that light but the reality is that living in it can be costly!

Will we choose to live in God’s light willingly and joyfully?

Whatever we choose, God our father sits with us in the dark and the light reassuring us that he is with us but he really longs to lead us into his light! I hope we will follow.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, discipleship, Faith, God is with us, Life experiences, Life in all it's fullness, Listening to God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

