I want to tell you the good news but I can’t

happy sadWe were eating a family meal a few days ago when all of a sudden my youngest daughter shouted out

‘I want to tell you the good news but I can’t’.

We had got some new pet rabbits that day but my other daughter had been out all day on a trip and so she didn’t know. We knew that my she would be too excited to eat anything if she knew there were rabbits in the garden and so we asked our other daughter not to tell her until after tea.

The rest of our meal time was dominated with the question ‘what’s the good news?

If we are following Jesus then we have such good news to share.

Jesus, loves, accepts us and he is with us through life. The all powerful Jesus who created and runs the universe is willing to relate to and know us. Now that is good news!

We have such good news, but lots of us feel awkward talking about it. My daughter’s outburst left me with two thoughts:

Are we so excited about the what we have found in Jesus that we feel like we are desperate to let people know?

Are we willing to be honest about our faith, even if we think that we shouldn’t or that people might be against what we are saying?

The truth is that if we aren’t really excited about what Jesus is doing then there is something wrong with our faith. We need to pray that God would ‘restore the joy of our salvation’, that we would grasp again spiritually, emotionally and rationally what Jesus has done and is doing for us.

If we have a faith that is alive then we will want to share the good news we have found and are experiencing!

Talking about faith in a secular world can be hard but we need to realize that so much of normal everyday conversation with people is sharing opposing points of view. Many of the people I know support different sports teams and have different tastes (some of them even like marmite!) and they even have different political opinions. If we can talk openly about what we believe rather than being confrontational then most people are open to hearing a different point of view. The other thing that helps me talk about my faith honestly is the realization that so much of everyday conversation with people is about how we feel and what we have been doing. If my faith is alive, then how I feel and what I do will be dominated by Jesus and I want to be honest about that.

After we had finished eating, my daughter was allowed to share the good news and everyone was excited as we all went out into the garden to see the rabbits.

You are allowed to share the good news today! As you do, some people may not want to know, but others will be really excited and there may be some great rejoicing in heaven as people turn to Jesus!

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, Faith, Following Jesus, Life experiences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I want to tell you the good news but I can’t

  1. chrisssy says:

    Hi My name is Christine in my journey with Christ the holy spirit. Is showing me through great adversity over the years that each person we meet needs something different. For. Some its just understanding whilst I’ve worn a mask of being super spiritual, one girl I had the privilege to leading to the lord when I was young in faith caught me crying OH she exclaimed. I’m glad your human I thought Jesus was like. Santa clause now I see your. Human another Time was when my sister was in pain conflict with her daughter and couldn’t see her mistakes so like peter I put my foot inut again and said forgive yourself Jesus loves you she of course responded im not guilty I am finally starting to get the msg when people come to church on their own choice o think they are possibly more open to the gospel especialllly on forgiven and forgiving I have really encountered people not understanding what forgiveness is that it on fact setting them free it took me 20years to understand what that is and only now allowing gods grace forgiveness to my self ffirst so o can truly forgive good works are great coming from receving salvation but thousands of christians are doing good works and not set free for me its asking the holy spirit to give me disscerment sand wisdom and. Alot of. Patience coming from my background there. Was alot of. Strongholds to be broken generational stronghholds and occcult practice which I’ve rennounced and it must be very hard for leaders to discern how to approach individuals through these painful experiences I am learning how to communicate rather than my agender to get. Them saved And in church the holy spirit of course dose that sand found constant prayer is vital in relationship with neighbour my father passed away was of course painful and on her trying to encouraage me I just said thank you I will pray aaand god will give me strength her reply was not all of. Us can do that could have said to her gods hears your prayers and loves you as much as me on humillity I could have just said I am very grateful another lesson on being sensitive to where people are. I don’t see any of this as negative just god teaching me to rely on his wisdom understanding discernment on individuals as we can pass on condemnation and not convicction thanks for listening the other thing is trying to do too much too quick in our hurried lives I see an even greater need to spend more time with god when our lives sand minds are too busy we. Shut gods signal. Out. Thank you for reminding me yours in Christ chrisssy

    Like

Leave a Reply

