The One Where I Forgot Communion

I had been in my office finalizing the service and as I walked into the church a few minutes before the service started, Christine said to me ‘communion isn’t on the order of service’. I was just back at work after some time off and as I had put the service together, I had simply forgotten that it was one of our weeks for having communion.

Thankfully, I have a flexible church with some amazing people and it all worked out. We found some space in the service to include it and David who was on the computer loaded up a musical slide show (amazingly he managed to do this whilst projecting the song lyrics for the first few songs) to help us focus on why Jesus died.

Communion is Jesus’ gift to his church to help us to remember his death on the cross. Jesus died to save us and to give us the opportunity to know him now and forever (you can read more about this by clicking on this link).

The death of Jesus is both essential and central to the Christian faith and so it is especially embarrassing that I forgot the thing that is there to help us remember what the main thing is!

If you believe that Jesus died to save the world, do you try to remember?

Does his sacrifice on the cross remain in our thoughts so that it can impact out lives?

ct studd quote if jesus be GodC.T. Studd was a England Cricket player who gave up his career and traveled to China as a missionary in 1885. Whilst he was there he inherited a large sum of money which he gave away. His choices seemed odd to people who have no faith but this is what he said about why he lived the way that he did:

If Jesus Christ be God and died for me, then no sacrifice can be too great for me to make for Him.

As we live our lives today, will we remember what Jesus has done for us? As we remember, will we respond by focusing on his sacrifice and giving thanks to God? If we do, then we will be changed!

Let’s remember and respond by giving our lives to God afresh, no sacrifice can be too great for us to make for him.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, discipleship, Faith, Following Jesus, God loves us, Life experiences, Saved by Jesus and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

