The Moth that Wouldn’t Leave

I spent several minutes last night trying to get a moth out of a window. It was fairly easy to capture it in a cup, but then every time that I shook the cup outside of the window, the moth flew back in.

I know that moths are attracted to light and that this is what was drawing it back through the window but I was surprised that it kept coming back.

If I was drawn to something, but every time I went near it a giant cup held me prisoner and then shook me out away from my destination would I really keep coming back?

This moth was either very resilient or it was simply flying to the light on some instinctive level.

Jesus is the light of the world.

Are we drawn to the lightAre we drawn to him?

Are we drawn to him even when things are stressful and difficult?

Are we drawn to Jesus the light of the world or do we think that life is all about us?

Are we drawn to the light?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, Faith, Following Jesus, Jesus, Relationship with God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

