Robin Williams, depression and why we shouldn’t have to be okay

It’s been just over two years since the death of Robin Williams. This is something I wrote at the time about depression an why we shouldn’t have to pretend that we are okay.

Honest about my faith

Robin Williams as Mrs DoubtfireI was saddened to hear of the death of Robin Williams.

I was stunned to hear that he struggled with depression because in my mind, he was a guy who was always really funny.

I am shocked, but at the same time I know that I shouldn’t feel surprised because many people suffer with depression and hide it well.

In one of his most famous roles, Williams played Mrs Doubtfire. He pretends to be a strict female housekeeper in order for him to be near his own children. This dual personality may also have been evident in his life. We are all familiar with the zany Robin Williams and yet in the days to come we will no doubt hear more of the pain he was living with and battling against in his day to day life.

I have been upset by the use of the word selfish in relation to…

View original post 612 more words

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

