It’s a New Day

If you support England, then you probably went to bed discouraged and disillusioned last night.

While the match was on last night I was at a church leadership team meeting and so I recorded the football and started to watch it when I got home. Around midnight I went to bed in complete disbelief at what I had watched.

I woke up this morning thinking about these verses from the Bible.

The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease.

Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning.

I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!”

Lamentations 3.22-24

sunriseToday is a new day!

The disappointment of yesterday is still very real, but God’s mercies have begun afresh today.

Will we live with God’s mercy or disappointment and hurt?

There are so many things we put our trust in and sometimes we are let down and we are left discouraged.

It was wonderful to be reminded today that ‘the faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease’.

You see, I really am glad that my trust is in God and not in the England football team.

But here is the really important thing,

Even if England won Euro 2016, I would still be glad that my trust is in God and not in them.

‘The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!’

God offers us so much. He adopts us into his family and we become citizens of his kingdom (no Brexit from the Kingdom of God for me!) when we turn to him. We have so much to celebrate in God and yet our focus is often just on other things going well to make us happy.

Last night at our church leadership team meeting we talked about what was encouraging us about the church and as we shared there was a real sense of being aware of God at work.

There is really so much to celebrate at all that God is doing, whether we can see it or not.

First and foremost, let’s be fans of God and put our trust in him.

My prayer is that we would all be aware of God’s mercy, faithfulness and love as we allow him lead us into this new day.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in change, Faith, God is with us, God loves us, Life experiences, trust and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s a New Day

  1. angeangel says:

    Thank you for a lovely uplifting blog…we so need to encourage one another

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

