The One About my Fluffiness

Talking with people after the service I was caught a bit off guard when someone said,

‘Gosh, you are really fluffy aren’t you!’

This all happened on a Sunday morning a few weeks ago. Towards the beginning of the service my daughter was a bit upset (she had tripped up and fallen over) and so she came and sat on my knee for a cuddle. She had brought a fleece blanket to church and she clung to that and to me at the same time while she calmed down.

fluffinessAs she stood up, I realized that there were lots of little pieces of fluff from the blanket that were now on me.

So as I stood up for the sermon I had to start by apologizing for my fluffiness.

Ironically, it couldn’t have been more appropriate as we were thinking about how we can be more honest about our faith.

My daughter had left her mark on me and everyone could see it.

Is it our hope and prayer that the people who we meet would be changed by our encounter? Do we want to leave our mark and more importantly do we want people to see Jesus shining through in the way we that we live and talk?

Jesus is with us always and I pray that he would be glorified as we become the people who he created us to be who allow him to be seen in all that we do.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, Blessed to be a blessing, change, Faith, God is with us, Life experiences and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

