Will we save a seat for Jesus?

Chair for JesusI was at a meeting of the Eastern Baptist Association council yesterday and as I set the tables up, I included a chair in the middle to remind us that Jesus was with us.

Jesus said:

‘Where two or three gather together as my followers, I am there among them’ (Mathew 18.20)

I don’t think Jesus was saying that it takes two or three of us to make him turn up because he is everywhere already. I think that the point that he was making is that when we have meetings to talk about faith and following him, that we should remember that he is among us.

Sadly, it’s easy to meet in Jesus’ name and pursue what we think his agenda is.

How much time, effort and energy do we put into looking to and listening to Jesus?

Jesus has gone to all the effort of being among us, the least we can do is to listen to and be led by him!

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, Faith, Following Jesus, God is with us, Jesus, Life experiences, Listening to God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

