Don’t worry, I won’t get kittens when I grow up

kittensThe other day, my daughter started randomly talking with me about when she grows up. She may only be 6, but one day she said that she is going to have her own house and that she will have kittens.

A short while later in the conversation, I said that I hoped that I could come and visit her in her house when she was older. She thought about this for a while and then she said ‘don’t worry, I won’t get kittens when I grow up’.

Being around cats makes me sneeze. The sad thing is that I am not drastically allergic and so I would visit my daughter in her house even if she did have cats.

What was wonderful though in that moment though was that my daughter was telling me that her relationship with me is more important to her than her obsession with cute kittens.

It was a really touching moment that got me thinking about how important family and friendships are.

It reminded me of a clip from the film ‘Click’. In the film, Adam Sandler’s character gets a magical remote that allows him to fast forward and to rewind time. In this particular scene he uses the remote to look at a scene from his life where his father and his son were trying to get his attention but at the time he was too busy to acknowledge them. As he watches, he shouts at himself, ‘you’re a schmuck’ as he realizes that he was prioritizing the wrong things.

If we can take time to pause and look at life objectively then the importance of investing in and prioritizing relationships will be obvious.

Will we give the people in our lives the attention and time that they deserve?

God is our father and he is with us always. Will we work at deepening our relationship with him?

If there are things in our lives that are offensive to God or the people we care about, are we willing to let those things go?

This is the scene from ‘Click’.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, film, Following Jesus, God is with us, God loves us, Life experiences, Loving one another, Relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

