It’s Nice to Feel Appreciated

You made my dayA few days ago, one of the church members here at Orchard Baptist posted this on our church Facebook page:

‘5 years today since our pastor Graeme Ross was inducted, just want to say how blessed we have been since you and your family came to join us. Thank you, and praise God for sending you to us xx’

How kind is that? I knew that I had been here for around 5 years, but I had no idea of the exact date of my induction.

I give thanks for Orchard Baptist, they really are a great bunch and they encourage me greatly and it’s good to know and to be reminded that I am an encouragement and a blessing to them. I want to lead a church that is accessible and helpful to people whether they know anything about Christianity and the Bible or not and that is the type of church that Orchard wants to be. We really are a good fit for each other and it’s good to be reminded of that.

Who means a lot to you?

When was the last time you encouraged them or told them what they mean?

I haven’t been feeling well during these past few weeks, I have had a head cold that I have found it hard to shake off. I’m not feeling my best and it is at times like this that we especially need encouragement that we are doing good and that God is at work in and through us even when we feel fragile. You see, we feel like we have to be strong and that we should be able to cope, but the reality is that God’s power is made perfect in our weakness.

The message on Facebook encouraged me but it also served as a reminder that it is God who is at work and that he is the one who we need to thank and praise.

Who or what do we need to thank God for today?

Being encouraged means so much and it is such and easy thing to do.

Go on, encourage someone today, what have you got to lose?

 

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Blessed to be a blessing, church, encouragement, Faith, Loving one another and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Nice to Feel Appreciated

  1. Graham Greenow says:

    From one Graeme to another graham thanks for sharing, we do all need and to give encouragement and in doing so the kingdom of God is exalted and purposes in our lives. God bless you and your family in your ministry.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

