The One About Looking Closer

DSCN7710I recently received a card and I was so excited as I opened the envelope until I saw the picture inside. They had written ‘Graeme’ on the outside and put a picture of a fat bloke in a funny costume inside.

Is that what they really think I look like?

Do they really hate me so much that they want to point it out?

You see, if I only looked at the front of the card and got upset it would be fairly ridiculous. To do so would mean that I had missed the whole point of what the senders (who are good friends of mine) were trying to say.

Opening the card helped me to see that the senders want me to have a happy Christmas and not that they think that I’m fat (for the record though, I’m hardly thin).

I think that when people glance at the nativity and dismiss it as something that isn’t for them that is also sad.

Is this the Christmas when you will open up the Nativity story and discover that God loves you so much that he entered this world as a human being.

The God who runs the universe became a foetus (this is called the incarnation) in order to be born into the world! If it’s true (and you won’t know if it is if you don’t open it up and take a look) then it is the most amazing thing that you have ever heard.

You can read more about the incarnation in ‘I’ve never thought about it like that before’.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in christmas, Christmas story, Faith, Incarnation, Life experiences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

