The One Where I Felt Hopeless

related blog postsThis is a picture that was posted at the bottom of my blog yesterday and looking at it didn’t make me feel too good! When you write a post on WordPress, it analyzes your article and tries to suggest related posts from the blog’s archive that other people might be interested in.

Yesterday, I had written about being unable to find a phone that wasn’t there and it related it to the time when I walked into a window and also when I stood in the wrong queue. These three stories together make me seem (and feel) completely inept.

Of course, it is all my own fault because I wrote about these embarrassing occasions rather than keeping them hidden. The truth is that we all like to present ourselves in the best light but the reality is that we all make mistakes and get things wrong but I don’t think that we should have to pretend we are perfect.

The best thing about the three posts that WordPress added was the third one, Jesus sent me an e-mail which reminded me that Jesus is with me and that he longs to guide all of us through life.

I may be far from perfect, but I have the all powerful God in and with me. God works in me, through me, around me and often in spite of me.

God is at work in us and his power is made perfect in our weakness. When we are weak it means we have no choice but to call on God and to tag him into our lives.

As we enter this season of Advent, it is good to be reminded that Jesus came into this world as a light into the darkness. May we make it our prayer that his light would shine brightly in this dark world.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, God is powerful, God is with us, Life experiences, vulnerability and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The One Where I Felt Hopeless

  1. Pingback: It’s Nice to Feel Appreciated | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

