The One Where I Couldn’t Find the Dinging Phone

lost phoneSo, we were sat playing a game when all of a sudden I heard a ‘ding’. At the end of the round, I checked my phone to see what the notification was for but then I realized it was turned off. I then began to wonder where the ‘notification sound’ had come from and I started to search around the room for the phone that had dinged. After several minutes I felt so dim when I finally realized where the sound had come from.

I recently upgraded to windows 10 and one of the things that windows 10 does is make a notification noise when you get new e-mails or other system messages. I’m still not used to my laptop notifying me with a phone like sound (after all it’s a laptop, not a phone!) and so it hadn’t occurred to me that the sound had come from my computer not a mobile.

The ‘dinging’ isn’t something that I would expect from a laptop, but nevertheless it is how my laptop is behaving.

I was reminded recently that Jesus rarely did things that people expected and in contrast to this that most churches want things to always remain the same. Jesus longs to lead us into new ways of being church, but we can be resistant.

If Jesus behaves in a way that we don’t expect, will we follow him anyway?

The Jesus we read about in the gospels is much more radical and outrageous than the Jesus presented in many churches. The question is, will we follow the real Jesus rather than the safe and sanitized version of him (you know, the meek and mild one) that has been created.

You can think about this some more by reading Jesus said something but I couldn’t remember what.

May Jesus lead us into the unexpected today and my we have the courage to follow him.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in discipleship, Faith, Following Jesus, Life experiences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The One Where I Couldn’t Find the Dinging Phone

  1. Pingback: The One Where I Felt Hopeless | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

