Google e-mailed to say that I should be interested in myself

google telling me that I should find my own posts interestingI received an e-mail from Google telling me about some posts on Google+ that I might find interesting. The weird thing about it is that the posts that it thinks that I would be interested in were actually written by me.

Yes, Google really e-mailed to tell me that I should be interested in myself! (This wasn’t a case of an epic Google fail. I actually have 2 accounts which are associated with different e-mail addresses, one for work and the other is a personal e-mail address).

The e-mail was a helpful reminder to me that we all (and yes, that means you as well) have something worthwhile to say. I believe that each human being is made in the image of God and that we have real value. Sadly though, there is something about the world we live in that leaves many of us feeling worthless and powerless but I believe that we should be interested in what each other have to say.

The Bible emphasises that even the weakest and most vulnerable members of our society are important. Jesus taught that we have to become like little children to enter his kingdom and the Bible reminds us that God’s power is made perfect in our weakness. I believe that an important part of us finding our true sense of worth is through a relationship with God. As we connect with him, he will continue to change us to become the people who he made us to be.

Back to the e-mail. It makes sense that I would be interested in the sort of things that I would write about but worryingly, the blog post that it selected as being of particular interest to me was about being ‘exhausted, broken & terrified’. This just goes to show that perhaps Google doesn’t know me quite as well as it thinks that it does.

The algorithms that Google uses are amazingly sophisticated but they still aren’t perfect. I am so grateful that I know and can follow a perfect God who does know me better than I know myself. As we follow and trust in him, I believe that we can really discover and then become the people who God created us to be. God really is greater than Google!

God has someone who he thinks you might be interested in and that person is you!

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Everyone is valuable, Faith, Life experiences, Life in all it's fullness, restoration, Who am I and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

