I’m not really Batman you know!

batman costumeSo, I asked Batman to pass me something that I had dropped and he looked at me and said ‘I’m not really Batman you know’. This all happened when I was tidying up after a children’s party and I didn’t know which child was under the batman hood at the superhero themed event.The young boy really made me laugh, but I thought that it was also good that he knew that he really wasn’t Batman.

Batman is a really unusual superhero because he doesn’t have any superpowers. He relies on his gadgets and technology as well as various fighting techniques to help him beat the bad guys. You see, Batman is just an ordinary man who has been empowered through training and technology.

What is empowering us?

The Holy Spirit (the presence of God) lives inside of every Christian and he wants to empower us. This belief makes it especially sad when we choose to try to cope by ourselves or without God. The Holy Spirit empowers us in all kind of ways and I have written about that elsewhere if you want to read more about that.

If God’s presence is in us and at work through us, why aren’t we relying on him more?

May we know God’s empowering presence today.

Perhaps you are new to the Holy Spirit and God’s presence. If so, simply tell God that you want to turn to and follow him and then ask him to fill you with his Holy Spirit and then see what happens next.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in change, Faith, Holy Spirit, Life experiences and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

