Did he have a pen behind his ear?

who am iRecently, I was telling my daughter that I saw one of her teachers. She wanted to check this was a genuine sighting (do teachers really exist outside of school?) and so she asked,

‘was he tall?’

‘Did he have black hair?’

Then she came out with

‘did he have a pen behind his ear?’

I found it really funny and interesting at the same time that my daughter saw the a pen behind the ear as being a defining characteristic.

If I was describing the teacher, I too would have gone with tall and black hair but then I would have said, ‘he always seems to be smiling’.

You see, the pen behind the ear is distinctive, but it really doesn’t describe who someone is and I wonder if we make this mistake too when we describe people purely by their appearance.

You see, I am fairly inspired by a teacher who often seems to be smiling and happy. Teaching isn’t the easiest job in the world and it is to his credit that this person appears to be so positive.

Who are you?

I believe in a God who is at work in me helping me to grow and to become the person who he created me to be.

We all have such vast potential and I pray that we will learn to see the possibilities in ourselves and others rather than basing our expectations on physical appearance or circumstances.

Who are you becoming?

After all, there is a lot more to life that having a pen behind your ear isn’t there?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in change, Faith, Life experiences, Who am I and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

