The Pink Unicorn Which Started A Fight

pink unicornWho would have thought that a little pink unicorn could have started such a big argument and ultimately a fight?

It all started a few weeks ago when my wife, girls and I were walking in the woods. On the way through we did a little bit of geocaching and this unicorn was in one of the caches.

Unfortunately there was only one pink unicorn and so immediately an argument broke out about who would have it (no, not between me & Tracey!) In the end we sorted it out and we gave it to the daughter who had been the best behaved so far on the walk and our other daughter was promised the first pick out of any other geocaches that we found with items to swap in.

Sadly the argument/fight didn’t end there and it actually spoiled the rest of the walk. My daughters relationship was broken temporarily because of a little pink unicorn.

I noticed the unicorn on a shelf this morning and it made me sad that something that has essentially been neglected for a few weeks could have caused so much trouble.

I wonder what we think we need in life and what is driving us? Is it something that is really important or is it simply what we feel like in this moment? Is it what we need or is it just an impulse?

Or to ask a slightly different question, think about what was driving you this time last year. What was it you were yearning for? Was it something that is still really important or is it something that you now neglect?

What really is important in life?

It’s great to be waiting for a new film to come out, or for a concert date to come around. It’s fantastic to look forward to a holiday or to a new car. All these things are good and they might motivate us but are they really what we are living for?

For me, my faith is what I want to live for. I live for Jesus, who came to this earth as a human where he showed us who God is and then he gave his life on the cross to open up the way for us to know God. Jesus, who is God, came back to life and ascended to heaven where he is now reigning.

Jesus is inspirational and is worth following, so why then is it the other things that often demand my attention?

If I can’t have an exotic holiday, that is something I might be disappointed about but it shouldn’t be the end of the world if I have Jesus.

We get all worried and stressed about all sorts of things, but really Jesus is the answer. If what I have said about him is true, then what could be better than focusing on him as all that is the most important in life?

 

 

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Following Jesus, fomo, Life experiences, Loving one another, materialism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Pink Unicorn Which Started A Fight

  1. Great post! Thanks for sharing it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

