The One Where I Forgot the Tent Pegs

tent voyager 6So, we got to the campsite and carefully picked the spot for our tent. We unloaded the car and began putting the poles into the canvas and that is when we realized that I had forgotten to pack the tent pegs.

Those of you who know me well know that I am not a good camper. I assumed that tent pegs lived in the bag with the rest of the tent but it turns out I was wrong.

Fortunately the campsite was only 10 miles from home and so I went back to get the pegs while Tracey set the tent up as well as she could.

I got back to the campsite around three-quarters of an hour later and miraculously the tent was up. Tracey had found a few pegs which were enough to get the tent in place. She really had done an amazing job and had made amazing progress despite my incompetence.

Tracey had been able to get the tent in place with only a few pegs because the conditions were good, there was no wind and so the tent wasn’t facing any opposition or pressure. A little later and the tent was well pegged down which was a good job because it was really, and I mean really, windy the next day.

What keeps us anchored in life?

When life is good and things are easy, then it doesn’t really matter if we are secure in life but when the going gets tough and the storms of life are putting us under pressure, we really need something secure to be clinging on to.

David was in a bad place. He was in a desert literally, emotionally and spiritually. He felt thirsty for water and for God. In Psalm 63, he describes his distress and then he says to God:

You are my helper,
    I sing for joy in the shadow of your wings.
I cling to you;
    your strong right hand holds me securely.

David was miserable but he recognised that God was his helper. He felt lost but he knew he could cling to God. He felt exhausted and vulnerable but he believed that God was holding him.

What is keeping us secure in life? God is with us and God is all powerful, but will we cling to him or do we forget that he is there and try to cope alone?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, God is powerful, God is with us, Life experiences, Relationship with God, trust and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

