These Boots were Worn Out Walking

worn out walking bootsEleven months ago I wrote about my new walking boots in ‘These boots were made for walking’, but here is a picture of those boots now.

      These boots were worn out walking.

I was so pleased when I bought and used these boots and they are still really comfortable but the constant wear has meant that they are broken.

You see, these walking boots are designed for people who do very occasional walking and they just haven’t been able to cope with the few hundred miles that I have clocked up over the year.

One of the last walks I did wearing them was on a wet day and the hole where the shoe has split from the sole let in plenty of water. These boots were worn out walking and they aren’t adequate for what I need.

I wouldn’t buy this type of walking boot again if I was going to use them to walk long distances regularly.

What are we depending on in our walk through life?

If we are strolling in the sunshine and things are all good, then it may not matter but when things get difficult in the walk of life it soon becomes clear if what we are relying on is up to supporting us or not.

These boots couldn’t cope and I think if we are honest that many of the things we rely on to get through don’t work in the long run. Retail therapy, comfort eating, exotic holidays, drugs all bring short term happiness, they help us to feel good in the moment but they don’t bring lasting satisfaction.

Jesus is with us always and we can rely on him, but we have to choose to. He longs to be a part of our life and to be with us and to lead us through in our walk of life.

You might think that I am writing this to people who don’t know Jesus yet, but actually this challenge is for all of us.

Jesus said to a group of Christians that he was knocking at their door and that he wanted them to let him back in (Revelation 3.20). These Christians had stopped depending on Jesus, they thought they had it all and were confident in their money and possessions to get them through.

Jesus reminded them that they need him. Is he reminding you of that today as well?

bootsThese are my new walking boots.

Rather than just walking into a shop and trying to find a comfy pair I did some research into some boots that would suit my needs.

These boots cost me more than I really wanted to pay but sometimes you have to pay more if you want something that will last.

Knowing Jesus does cost us as we commit to following him, but knowing him is also life changing and worth it.

Jesus is knocking, will we let him in?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, Faith, Following Jesus, Life experiences, Life in all it's fullness, Relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

