The one about my handwriting not being very good

handwritingMy handwriting is awful and illegible to the point where even I can’t read it sometimes! Whenever I am at a meeting and it is suggested that we should all write our thoughts on post-it notes or feedback sheets, my heart sinks because my writing is really, and I mean really, embarrassing.

At a recent meeting, it was obvious when the poor person who was reading the post-it feedback had got to something that I had written because there would be a long pause followed by the statement ‘I think it says …’.

I had a real phobia of writing and for years I would avoid writing anything by hand because of my embarrassment. Ironically, during this same time, and since, I would also use post it feedback when leading meetings and groups. I used this method although I find it difficult because it is a fantastic way of getting feedback from almost everyone in the room (unless they are too embarrassed to write that is).

My embarrassment about writing has given me an insight into how shy people might feel when they are asked to speak in a group. It has made me realize that we need to be more accepting of one another and our various strengths and weaknesses.

Now, although I am embarrassed about my handwriting I will choose to participate and to write something and in life, sometimes we just have to get over the things that hold us back. Sometimes this is fairly easy but often it can take a long time to find freedom and occasionally it is an ongoing battle that we will be with us for life.

Something that important for us to overcome the things that hold us back is self-worth and security. I am a fairly secure person and so can cope well with criticism and even people laughing at me (or my handwriting). My faith gives me security and self-worth because I believe that God loves me. God loves me, not because I have the best handwriting in the world or because I can do clever things (it happens sometimes!) but he loves me because he loves everyone.

What is holding you back? Do you want to be free from it?

I would encourage you to pray and to ask God for his help and strength. We need to choose to want to be free and take steps to overcome our weaknesses and fears. Often it can help to have people supporting and encouraging us in the process as well, so think about who you can invite to share in your journey towards freedom.

My writing isn’t very good, but I am glad that I have found freedom to write by hand when I have to.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in change, Faith, freedom, Life experiences, Who am I and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The one about my handwriting not being very good

  1. Pingback: The One About Fat And Pointy Bottoms | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

