The one about the £5, the late lunch and God at work

I don’t know whether it is my Scottish ancestry or not, but I rarely carry cash. I did however have some today and it was good that I did.

Let’s rewind to last night.

I found out that the end off Tracey’s geocaching torch had been lost when the girls and I had borrowed it a few weeks ago. Cue, a search of all the rucksacks in the house. Sadly I didn’t find the end of the torch but I did find a £5 note and a mouldy sandwich that had returned from a school trip (thankfully the mouldy sandwich takes no further part in this story).

Fast forward to today.

I was heading home for lunch at 12 when Tracey called and asked if we could make it later. I was in the middle of something and so it was ideal to have a late lunch. At 1pm I headed home and a minute or two into my journey I met someone who I know who was deeply upset. We talked for a little while and I prayed for them and then I asked where they were going. They were walking to a nearby cash point to get some money to catch the bus into town.

It had been a hot day and their walk to the cashpoint was clearly just another thing that was adding to their stress and that was when I remembered my £5. There was a bus stop right there and the person with whom I was talking gratefully accepted the £5 when I offered it.

I believe in Godincidences: strange occurrences that happen even though they are unlikely and in which God is clearly at work doing good.

I had £5 in my pocket which is rare. What a coincidence Godincidence!

I was heading home at the right time, rather than an hour earlier. What a coincidence Godincidence!

shock surpriseAs I though about this later, I was surprised by the way this had all worked out but I shouldn’t have been.

God was at work and he will go on being at work and he will also go on working in surprising and unlikely ways.

I hope that you will pray with me for this person that their very deep and real problems can somehow be resolved.

Think about your past few days.

Have you experienced any Godincidences? If so, feel free to comment below and tell us about them.

Think about your next few days.

Will we be open to God’s leading and direction? Will we make the time to stop when it is needed?

God is at work and he wants us to join in with what he is doing. What a privilege!

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Blessed to be a blessing, Faith, Life experiences, Power of God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

