The one where I remembered that it is Wednesday tomorrow

forgot keys funnyOkay, so I’m writing this on Tuesday night at 10pm and I’ve just realized that it is Wednesday tomorrow. Each Wednesday we circulate a prayer bulletin (you can read about that here) and I usually put it together on Tuesday afternoon.

It’s just dawned on me that it is Wednesday tomorrow (I know, how sad is that!) I need to write the bulletin and I’ve just done a quick outline for it and I will finish it up in the morning.

The prayer bulletin is one of the most important things we do as a church, but for the past few weeks I’ve only remembered about it late on Tuesday evening because I am so busy.

One of the things that my dad say in his sermons a lot is that,

The main thing is to keep the main thing the main thing.

What is the main or most important thing?

Unless we are focused on it, it will get lost in the busyness of life

I was working on our Sunday service and I was thinking of using a clip from the film Click. In the film, Adam Sandler’s character finds a remote control that can rewind, pause or fast forward through life.

In this particular scene he has rewound to a time when his dad and son came to visit him in his office. At the time, he had been too busy to notice them but as he watches on he is upset by the way that he missed what was really important at the time.

He now wishes that he had taken the opportunity to spend time with his father rather than finishing his e-mails.

What is the most important thing?

I believe that the most important thing in life is to spending time with God our father but are we too busy or do we forget in the busyness of life?

Remember, the main thing is to keep the main thing the main thing.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in creative communication, Faith, God is our father, Life experiences, Relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

