Let me introduce you to my best friend

Mickey Mouse at Orchard BaptistAs he walked around the church, children rushed up to him in delight. His presence brought a smile and it usually attracted hugs or high fives.

We had booked Mickey Mouse to visit our church fun day and I was amazed at the impact that he had on the children that he met.

Mickey was happy to have photos taken with anyone including me and I was really pleased that he was able to attend our fun day.

This got me thinking about the difference that we can make to others. Sometimes just being there for someone or an act of kindness can make a huge difference.

How can we make the world a better place by the way that we treat others?

I’m writing this a day after Mickey visited and I’m sad to say that he hasn’t been in touch, no text message or phone calls. He clearly isn’t my best friend or even someone who cares about me deeply, but I am glad that he visited us.

The Bible talks  about the way that we can know Jesus as a friend and Paul (who wrote a lot of the New Testament) talked about how knowing Jesus was more valuable than anything else in the world (Philippians 3).

I’m glad Mickey could make people smile, but my hope and prayer is that people would find the real joy and fulfillment that Jesus can bring.

Mickey has better things to do than to spend time with me 😦

Jesus has better things to do than to spend time with me with him running the universe and all that that involves. Despite these better things though, Jesus promises ‘to be with us always‘.

How amazing is that?

Jesus is the greatest friend that we could ever have and knowing him is definitely the greatest thing in the universe.

Something to think about.

How does knowing Jesus change the way you live?

How does knowing Jesus make a difference to who you are?

Knowing Jesus should change everything, but how is he changing our everyday lives in reality? If the answer is not every much, then perhaps we need to get to know Jesus afresh and open up our lives more fully to him.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, God is with us, Jesus, Life experiences, Life in all it's fullness, Relationship with God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

