The one where I beat a bunny with my Bible

kill the rabbitIt is time for me to confess that I once beat up a bunny. I had intended to hit it with a hammer but unfortunately I couldn’t find one and so I hit that poor little bunny with my Bible until it was really, and I mean really, flat.

I also need to confess that I did this in front of a group of people at a church prayer meeting.

Spare a thought for those people who were witnesses to this horrific attack. They had innocently gone to the Church prayer meeting and when they set arrived, they probably didn’t expect to see their Minister beating a bunny into a pulp with his Bible.

well, if you hadn’t guessed by now, I need to make clear that this was a chocolate and not a real bunny.

To explain ….

We’re going through a time of change at Orchard Baptist and one of the dominant things that God seems to be saying to us is,

‘I am doing a new thing’ (Isaiah 43.19)

As we were coming to prayer to ask God to show us what this new thing is and also to think about how we can be open to him leading us into it I became aware that a new thing can only work well when it takes the place of a previous thing.

The smashed bunny was supposed to act as a reminder that sometimes God brings about change in a drastic way. The early church was told to share the gospel throughout the world but instead they stayed in Jerusalem. Only when persecution came did they move out into the world.

The turbulence and trouble led to their transformation.

Sometimes a dismantling or a dislodging has to take place before we develop into the people and move into the places that God wants us to be.

My church blesses me so much, but we are going through an interesting time. Pray for us as we continue on our journey of being led by God.

How is God leading you?

Are you willing to let go of things and to let God do a new thing?

I think that in years to come we will look back on this time of change as being a time when God did something significant amongst us. I think that where he is leading us to is really exciting, I’m just not 100% sure about where that is or what it will look like.

God’s new thing is always exciting as Isaiah 43 reminds us,

18 “But forget all that—
    it is nothing compared to what I am going to do.
19 For I am about to do something new.
    See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?
I will make a pathway through the wilderness.
    I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.

May we be open to God leading us in new ways into the new things that he has for us.

You will be glad to know that no real rabbits were harmed in the writing of this blog.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in creative communication, Faith, Life experiences, Listening to God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

