Time to let it go?

let it goYou know that you are overly busy and overloaded when you are finding it difficult to do the things that you usually find easy.

At Orchard Baptist we try to start each service with something that is creative and that is usually fun. The purpose of this is to explain the key theme that we will be exploring and also to inspire people to worship.

I was trying to come up with something for this Sunday, but I was really, really stuck.

The process of coming up with a concept or idea that usually takes a few minutes had taken over an hour.

The process that is usually fun had become really stressful, my head was hurting and I was getting nowhere fast.

So, I decided to let it go and I got on with something else. Several minutes through writing some e-mails, a thought popped into my head which we will use this Sunday. No, I’m not going to tell you. You will just have to come and see, but it does involve a hammer!

As I have reflected on this, I was reminded of something that Jon Ortberg says in his book ‘The me I want to be’. He talks about how we often try harder and that in exercise (admittedly something that I don’t know a lot about), when you try too hard you end up pulling or tearing muscles. Sometimes he says that we need to try softer not harder.

When we try softer, when we are willing to lay things down or to let things go, then we open up room for God to speak and to lead us.

I am having a busy week, but I am more determined than ever to make space for God, rather than straining or trying harder in my own strength.

What do we need to let go of or to lay down?

This clip from ‘Indiana Jones and the last crusade’ reminds us that we have to be willing to let things go. Someone has cleverly edited the ending, making it more entertaining. Enjoy!

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Life experiences, Relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

