So, are you really a Vicar?

instant vicar kitThis was the question I was asked by one of the mums at our toddler group recently and I answered by saying that I was a Vicar but that in Baptist churches we are called Ministers.

The follow-up question was ‘why don’t you wear a dog collar’?

You see, I’m entitled to wear a dog collar but I choose not to. I don’t think there is anything wrong with clergy wearing dog collars, it’s just not for me.

When I went to train at theological college, one of my friends bought me an instant vicar kit like the one in this picture. We laughed a lot about it but I never wore it.

You see, I’ve always been more of an undercover Christian.

I don’t mean that I am embarrassed or that I try to hide that I am a Christian, I just try to demonstrate to demonstrate that I am a Christian rather than telling people that I am. For example, I often  tell people that I will pray for them  and sometimes I will pray for them there and then if they don’t mind. I prefer to talk about things that Jesus said to people rather than Christianity because following Jesus is what my faith is all about, not joining a religion.

When people say their telling people about their faith, sometimes they are only really telling them how good their church is.

The truth is that if you join any church that you will be disappointed at some point but if you follow Jesus he will never let you down.

Jesus was more of an undercover God when he was on the Earth. He became human which is a pretty good disguise if you are God and then he hung around with all the un-religious people which is the last thing that the Jews expected God to do.

I heard someone speak recently who said something like ‘God’s cover is blown, we’re realizing that he is at work all the time’. God is everywhere and he is at work in every situation and he certainly isn’t limited to places where Christians are. The question for us, is will we join in with what he is doing?

So, to be clear. I am a Baptist Minister but really I’m a follower of Jesus. I’m hopefully becoming more like the person who God made me to be as I follow him. You can read more about that here.

Take some time to pause and think about how you can demonstrate that you are a follower of Jesus today.

Perhaps you are reading this and you haven’t chosen to follow Jesus. Perhaps this is your moment to give him a try?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, Faith, Life experiences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

