Your attitude can make you happy even when your circumstances should make you miserable

the grass is always greener where you water itI’m writing this on Saturday night after a long day.

I put up a bouncy castle

I took one of the kids to town to buy new shoes

I let someone into church to have a party (we need more parties in church!)

I took the girls geocaching and we walked a few miles together

I took down a bouncy castle

And they call it a day off!

I’m writing this and my legs and back hurt and I’m tired but I am happy.

You see, it’s easy to mope around because life isn’t all plain sailing.

My life isn’t bad or hard, it’s just busy.

I’m siting here, before I go to bed (that’s what you do when you are tired isn’t it?) thinking that perhaps I should feel sorry for myself. I have had a lot on today, but I’ve also found a lot of happiness and joy in amongst that busyness.

Some people say that the grass is greener on the other side. When we live with this mentality, believing we are always missing out, then we are miserable.

The grass is actually greener where you water it.

Instead of focusing on what others have (or what I think they have), I should learn to enjoy my own life.

I thank God for the life he has given me and I thank him even more that he is with me, guiding and leading me through life.

The trick is to listen and to follow.

In amonst my busyness, the highlight of my day was shen my daughter shouted out,

‘Look, those cows are having a piggyback’.

🙂

I love this verse from Philippians 4. As we trust in God, we can be content.

grass greener philippians verse

 

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in contentment, fomo, Life experiences, Life in all it's fullness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

