The one about the broken connection that stressed me out

Aerial connectionIt had been a busy day and I came home and wanted to watch TV but when I turned it on, all I got was a no signal message.

I soon discovered that the problem was that an aerial connection that we have in our hallway had broken and I decide, even though I’m hopeless at these things, to have a go at fixing it.

Identifying the problem with the connection was easy. The clamp within the metal connector in the picture had broken and the weight of the metal was causing it to pull away from the wire. I then armed myself with some pliers and I tried to bend the clamp into submission.

The next hour was one of the most stressful times of my life and if there hadn’t been children asleep then there definitely would have been a large hammer involved!

Eventually I gave up and went to bed, it was just too broken 😦

I mentioned it to Tracey in the morning and a few minutes later she came into the lounge and turned the TV on and it worked.

‘How did you fix the broken bit?’ I asked.

‘We had a spare connector that I used’ came the reply.

It’s funny isn’t it how we try really hard by ourselves at things that we aren’t really very good at when the answer is simple if we ask for help.

I often think of living the Christian faith as being connected with God and we need to make sure that we stay connected to God and that we keep the connection strong. I usually place the emphasis for doing this within my life on myself but one of the things that I realized after this repair was that part of staying connected with God must be about us asking him to keep our connection open.

I read my Bible and spend time in prayer as my way of keeping my connection with God open and strong, but ultimately the reality and strength of the connection depends on God who initiates and sustains it.

I need to ask God to be more real in my life and then I need to be open to him answering that prayer.

I need to ask God to restore me and to fix my brokenness and then I need to be open to him answering that prayer.

I thank God that he wants to be connected to us and I hope that we will make the most of this amazing opportunity to know the real and living God in our lives.

The other thing I learnt was that I need to ask Tracey rather than attempting to fix things myself.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Life experiences, Relationship with God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

