The epic walk home from school that took two hours

So, a few days ago my daughter asked if we could walk home from school rather than driving. We did this the very next day and believe it or not it took us just over two hours.

The school is two and a half miles away from where we live and so the walk was always going to take a little while longer than the average school run walk.

walk home from schoolI didn’t want us to have walk down the busy main road that has no pavements and so I planned a walk on footpaths through some woodland.

If you look at the map, you can see that the route is a bit longer than the road (0.8 miles to be exact). Although it is longer, it is also much safer and also more scenic (see the pictures below).

As we walked away from the school, my daughter asked why we were going the wrong way. I was impressed that she knew we were going the wrong way and I went on to explain that we were walking along safe paths rather than down the roads without pavement.

Abberton ReservoirI was really touched that my girl wanted to spend time with me rather than taking the quick car journey that we share most days.

I was reminded of Jesus’ promise that he is with us always and it struck me that often we want God to do things quickly rather than us being willing to travel with him no matter how long the journey takes.

tree scenicMy daughter and I found real pleasure in our journey and we chatted and bonded more than we ever have on the equivalent short car journey.

We often want things instantly but sometimes we need to be patient and to let things grow and I think that this is especially true of relationships.

walk to rememberThe other thing that struck me was that if I didn’t know the route we were on then I would have been really frustrated for the first part of the walk because it felt like we were going the wrong way. I was reminded that God has a plan for our lives, a route that he has plotted but sometimes we wander off it because it feels like we are going the wrong way and we think that we know best.

My daughter was quite happy to follow me in what felt like the wrong direction and I hope spot the geocachethat my trust for God and his leading is as wholehearted as this.

One of the advantages of our woodland walk is that we went right past a geocache which we found together. Can you see it in the picture? The pointing finger is a bit of a clue!

It was great fun searching for this buried treasure together. This wasn’t just a walk, it was an adventure!

How is your walk through life?

Are you aware of God with you?

Do you consult him?

Do you let him lead?

God promises to lead us in a clear direction but we have to trust in him.

God is with us and he is leading us, but will we follow?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, God is with us, Life experiences, Listening to God, trust and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

