If you are going to talk to yourself, say something good!

pay attentionOnce there was a person who was going through such a terrible time that their problems made them physically ill. Within their depression and misery they cried out,

Why am I discouraged? Why is my heart so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again my Saviour and my God!

This person felt broken and alone and in their despair they had lost sight of God. They made time to write about how they were feeling and we have their rant/prayer in Psalm 42.

A remarkable thing happened as they poured out their pain to God. They began to see more clearly what was going on in their life and the space left by their outpouring became room that could be filled with God’s hope again.

The turning point in their painful prayer was when they talked to themselves and began to consider why they were so discouraged.

They recognized that they didn’t want to stay in the depressing place that they were and so they chose to remind themselves of who God is and they chose to believe again that God can rescue them.

They began to contemplate the change that would come and they chose to praise God as their saviour before he had saved them from their problems.

Talking to yourself is often seen as a very negative thing but if you are speaking positively then it is actually a good thing to do.

After their declaration of trust in God, the Psalm shifts to focus on God until the writer slips back into ‘why God, why?’ 

They clearly sensed the downward spiral kicking in and so they talked to themselves again, repeating,

Why am I discouraged? Why is my heart so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again my Saviour and my God!

Do you need to talk to yourself today?

Are we discouraged and we need to remind ourselves of God and call on him?

Do we feel like God is far away and we need to remind ourselves that God is with us?

Do we feel lost and we need to remind ourselves that God is our saviour?

Let’s put our hope in God and praise him as our saviour and our God.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faith, freedom, Prayer, restoration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

