A Note Trying to Negotiate with the Tooth Fairy

DSCF1522My daughter lost her first tooth a few days ago and this is a picture of the note she left for the tooth fairy. It reads:

To the Teeth Fairy give me a (50p crossed out) 3 pounds please and don’t take my teeth away and put it carefully away back in the pot.

I loved the combination of ‘give me’ and ‘please’ which really made me laugh and the way that she figured out that she might get more than 50p. Life is never dull in our house!

When I was thinking about this later I began to wonder if this is similar to how we can come to prayer.

Sometimes we ask things of God and we may say please but really we are issuing a demand.

Sometimes we ask things of God but we are not willing for him to ask things of us or to lead us?

The tooth fairy isn’t real and so the note is a bit of harmless fun but if we do approach the real and living God in a similar way then it really does matter.

Sometimes Christians are disappointed with God because he didn’t do what we told him to and this is really unfair on God. It’s not fair to be upset with someone who didn’t do something that they never said they would do.

In my daughters note, she is trying to be in control. When we pray are we willing to let God be in control? Are we willing to surrender to who he is and to believe that he knows more and had a better perspective than us?

My older daughter volunteered to be the tooth fairy and she got a 10p coin and snuck it under her sisters pillow after she was asleep. When the 10p was discovered in the morning, my youngest daughter was really excited and there were no complaints. She had made a demand of the tooth fairy but in the end she was happy with what she got.

I believe that an important part of prayer is for us to pour out our hearts to God and then to continue to talk as we allow God to change us. When we ask things of God will we also be willing to listen to him and to let him lead us?

If you were writing God a note today I wonder what it would say?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Life experiences, Listening to God, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

