I’ve finally come out as a Crazy Girl

little miss sunshineI’ve been a crazy girl for some time and have been okay with it but yesterday all that changed when I was put under pressure ‘to come out’ when someone in a pub asked me who I really was.

Sure, it’s a bit awkward being a crazy girl when you’re a man but it was never a real problem for me until I had to say out loud that I am a crazygeogirl.

I think I had better explain.

Tracey and the girls took up geocaching last Summer and they chose the username crazygeogirls. Eventually I could see they were having so much fun that I joined in and this meant that I have been a crazygeogirl ever since.

If you are interested you can read my blog about what geocaching is here.

I’ve quite happily cached as a crazygeogirl for all this time, because it’s anonymous. You find caches and then you log what you have found on the internet and the person who placed the caches would simply see that the crazygeogirls had found one of their caches.

Yesterday my anonymity went out the window when we went to the Essex/Suffolk Border Cache & Piffle which is a gathering of geocachers in the local area. It was all organized over the internet but bizarrely it turned out that the person who had organized the meeting (Tina-teaspoon) comes to our toddler group, small world huh!

Before the meeting, it hadn’t occurred to me that I couldn’t just say ‘I’m Graeme’ to introduce myself and when people started introducing themselves by their geocaching usernames my heart sank. People, such as Tina-teaspoon, Geotrowel, Ginger007 and BigbadJohn introduced themselves and then the fateful moment occurred when someone asked me who I was. My answer of ‘I’m with her’ (her being Tracey you’ll be glad to know!) wasn’t good enough and soon I was confessing to being a crazygeogirl.

Tracey and I talked about changing the username after we got home, but what to? Answers on a postcard (or in the comments box below).

It was an unusual experience for me going into a room full of people who all seemed to know each other. We were the newbies and didn’t really know what to do. It’s one of our priorities at Orchard Baptist to welcome people well and this experience has reminded me of how important that it is to do this well. You see, I’m not shy but I was nervous walking into the pub function room until I met the people inside and was put at ease.

I felt awkward confessing to being a crazy girl and this can also be true when we talk about our faith? I used to get very nervous about telling people I am a Christian and then it dawned on me that this should simply be about being honest.

Just think about the people you know and what they are interested in and you will soon realize that people are honest about being interested in the strangest things. Despite people’s strange interests, we still treat them well and in my experience of being honest about my faith, I can’t think of many people who have had a go or have been funny about me being a Christian. I can however think of lots of people who I have talked with about my faith and many who I have prayed for.

When people do question my faith, my stock answer (because it is true!) is that I’m a Christian because it works for me. I can’t prove to you beyond all doubt that God is real but I do know with certainty that knowing and following Jesus has changed my life. It really does work and I would encourage you to try it!

I am a Crazygeogirl and I’m proud of it!

I am a Christian and I’m proud of it!

Who are you? What means a lot to you? What is shaping your life?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, Faith, Life experiences, Life in all it's fullness, Who am I and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve finally come out as a Crazy Girl

  1. washknight says:

    This post made me smile, thanks. How about crazy girls and me or crazy guy and girls or crazygang 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emphasis on the crazy I suppose! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

