Can’t Sync, Won’t Sync

can't sync onedrive files weren't uploaded

The error message I received.

I currently (but not for much longer!!) use Onedrive to back up the files on my computer. The reason I won’t be using it much longer is because of this error message that I received recently.

The weird thing was that the 1,311 files were still on my computer and also in my online storage folder in the cloud. There was nothing missing anywhere and nothing to upload but Onedrive decided it was going to try an upload them and when it couldn’t it had a meltdown.

I use Dropbox as well which does the same thing as Onedrive with the main difference being that Dropbox works consistently. In Dropbox you save your file o folder to the cloud and it is then transmitted to any devices that you have set up to receive that file. (We find this really helpful at church because you can transfer files to our church PC without the need for memory sticks). When Dropbox has a file uploaded, it knows that it has it and so it doesn’t re sync unless you make changes.

Onedrive is a bit lot more paranoid than Dropbox, it feels like every time that you activate it that it tries to re sync the files between my computer and the cloud. It has so little confidence in itself that it assumes that something is the matter and this is a sad state of existence.

I think that the language of connecting and syncing is a really helpful way of thinking about our relationship with God.

I know that I am connected to God and that he is always with me.

I should regularly send and receive through my connection with God, not to test if it is still working but because communicating with God is a good and right thing to do.

Some Christians are a bit like a spiritual version of Onedrive where they want to constantly check that God still loves them or that he is still talking with them. This constant checking is necessary in a program like Onedrive that appears to be flawed but if it is necessary with God then it suggests that we think that he is flawed as well.

God has promised that he loves us and we should believe him.

God has promised that he is with us always and we should believe him.

There are times when I don’t use my connection to Dropbox but I know that when I activate it, that it will work. It have confidence in Dropbox because it has never let me down despite years of use. How much more should I trust in God who also has never let me down in the whole of my life,

A connection that isn’t used is pointless. Jesus talked about the opportunity to be connected with him when he said that he is like a vine and that we are the branches. If the branches don’t stay connected then they cannot stay alive. We need to stay plugged into God to receive the fullness of life that he offers if we rely on and follow him.

So, are you wondering why don’t I use Dropbox for everything? Well, it is because it only gives you a certain amount of free storage and I am at that limit :(. Knowing God is free because Jesus has made a connection possible but if we want that connection to be meaningful then we really have to invest in it.

Jesus made time to talk with God his Father in prayer and he would even go and find somewhere quiet to do this.

How can we invest in our relationship and connection with God?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in creative communication, Faith, God is with us, Prayer, Relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can’t Sync, Won’t Sync

  1. I agree with all of that, but the incredible thing is that God is gracious to us even when we are more OneDrive than Dropbox! And his syncs never fail.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

