Coping in the Chaos

stressDo you ever feel overwhelmed?

I’m a pretty relaxed and chilled out person but according to my wife I was up at 3 on Sunday morning looking for a rota for a project we are running this week. I kind of remember this happening and I think I gradually woke up as I was hunting for this rota under the quilt on our bed (obviously my sub conscious thinks I keep all my important paperwork under the quilt!)

When your sleep is affected you know that you have too much in your head and you need to deal with things.

Later, on the same day, someone read from  Psalm 46 at church and I noticed an emphasis on noise and chaos in it. It talks about:

  • Earthquakes
  • Mountains crumbling
  • Oceans roaring
  • Nations in chaos
  • War

Towards the end of the Psalm we read,

Be still and know that I am God.

This seems to be out of place because it is really difficult to be still when there is chaos all around. Before we get to the stillness we read that

God’s voice thunders

This made me think of a scary schoolteacher. You know the type I mean, the ones who can cause silence in a chaotic classroom just by raising their voice once.

This made me think of a police car siren. As I drive my car listening to the Frozen soundtrack on full volume (it’s my daughters playing it, not me!) I hear a siren behind me which cuts through the noise in my car. As I hear it I move to one side to let the police car past (you didn’t think it was chasing me do you!)

As God’s voice cuts through, we’re reminded that,

The Lord of Heaven’s Armies is here among us; the God of Israel is our fortress.

God can cut through the chaos. He is louder than it and he has greater authority than the other voices in this world that are demanding our attention.

As we listen to God’s voice, as we realize who he is, as we make him our fortress, as we look upon his glorious works then we can reach the point of being still and knowing that he is God.

On a stormy night I sit in my house and hear the wind and the rain. I look out and see the damage being caused and yet I am safe and secure in my home.

In amongst the stresses of life I rest in God my fortress and I hear and see everything going on but I feel safe, secure and peaceful as I look to and trust in him.

Do you feel overwhelmed and stressed? If so will you look to and be led by God? Will you listen for his voice cutting through the chaos leading you towards the place where you can be still and know that he is God?

psalm 46.1

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faith, God is with us, Life experiences, stress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coping in the Chaos

  1. Pingback: The One About the Video Tape that Needed to Rewind | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

