If you need Renewing, Refreshing and Recharging then Read on

Do you ever feel tired and drained by life? I have been feeling more tired than usual recently and I woke up this morning with these words in my head:

The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease.

Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning.

I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!”

Lamentations 3.22-24

As I was mulling over the words I thought of an electric car (yes, my mind is a strange place!)

electric car charging pointEvery time I see an electric car charging point I decide that I would like an electric car so I could plug in and travel places without fuel costs. My excitement over this is soon wiped out as I then realize there are only two charging points in a car park with hundreds of car spaces. What if half way through a long journey my car needed a charge, but those two spots were taken? I like the idea of an electric car but I don’t have confidence that I would have enough access to recharging points to buy and drive one.

The words from Lamentations remind us that God is our recharging point and that he is reliable. God’s love and mercy are constantly available and we can experience them anew every day.

But, God is so much more that a recharging point for life.

God’s love never ends because he is love. Love means setting aside selfishness in order to care for someone else and this involves a sacrifice as true love involves loving even when we are not loved back in the same way.

God’s mercy never stops. He always forgives and he constantly offers us a cleansing from guilt and a new start. Although we can receive God’s mercy at any time, it is a nice to be reminded of mercy at the start of a day so that we can see a new day as a fresh start. We can be cleansed by our creator and saviour and then using forgiveness as a foundation we are ready to try to live in a way that glorifies God.

God is faithful, you know what you will get from him. He never lets us down and he doesn’t change. The way he treats us is constant.

If things are tough at the moment, you may have read the words from Lamentations and thought something like ‘well it’s okay for him, he must have been having a great life to have written that. If he was going through what I am going through then he never could have written those words’.

If you want to see an example of misery and disappointment with life, then read the first part of Lamentations 3. The writer feels broken and disillusioned and up until v22 it is a rant about everything that is wrong and how they feel about it. Given the pain they were living with, it is amazing they can say,

I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!”

The writer speaks to themselves and reminds themselves of who God is. Their experiences had sucked the hope and faith out of their life and they began to realize that they needed hope and a belief that things could be different.

Often when we are struggling, we put our hope in things that might happen, ‘I’ll be okay when I have a holiday’, ‘It will be better if I can find a new job’, ‘When I meet the right person I will be happy’. The problem with hoping in circumstances is that those circumstances are often outside of our control. The holiday might get cancelled, we might not be able to find a new job and we might not be able to find ‘the right’ person for us.

The Bible reminds us that our hope should be in God, the God who loves us, the God whose mercy is never ending, the God who is faithful. When we depend on him, then we can feel secure even when things are falling apart in life. God should be the rock and foundation in our life, but often we rely on all kinds of other things.

Read these words again and I pray that they will give you hope as you are reminded of who God is and that he wants you to come to him to be recharged for life.

The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease.

Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning.

I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!”

Lamentations 3.22-24

Picture © Copyright Mike Pennington and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faith, God loves us, Life experiences, rest, trust and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If you need Renewing, Refreshing and Recharging then Read on

  1. Reblogged this on Honest about my faith and commented:

    I was going to write something about these verses in Lamentations, but then I realized that I already had. So here is an old post that hopefully will encourage you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

